Update

I am new to this blog but I can tell you that I feel so much better by reading all the Info here my daughter is getting her pic line in on Friday so they can give her the meds to increase her bone marrow before they do stem cell transplant .What can we expect to happen next does this make her sick or weak any info can help me

Hi Loving Parent, This is an awesome place isn't it?! Everyone here is so willing to share their experiences with the hopes of helping someone facing a similar situation. We are all like family here.

My DBF received his Neostar triple lumen cather in his chest approximately a month prior to his transplant. The next day he received Cytoxan and thankfully, did not have any issues. He was sent home and the next day Home Health Care began coming daily monitoring his numbers. His stem cells were collected approximately 2 weeks later. They told him their goal was to collect at least 12 million. Sometimes it takes 2 days to collect them. In his case, they collected 23 million in 1 day. He then had a 2 week break before his stem cell transplant.

I hope this is helpful in giving you a little clearer picture of what to expect. Please realize that everyone is different and different Dr's as well as different facilities do things differently but, I hope that gives you a basic understanding.

Please continue to keep us posted. My thoughts and prayers to you & your daughter.

God Bless,

JerseyGyrl

Thank you so much for the info

Dear Loving Parent