My journey with Multiple Myeloma

This is my story about living with Multiple Myeloma. It is a story I have been needing to put down for quite some time now, but was not ready yet as I have been so overwhelmed with it all. I have read many blogs on the diagnosis and treatment for MM, yet what I have not really seen is the emotional impact it has made on the people diagnosed with this difficult and painful cancer. After 6 months of living with MM and still not knowing where the future will lead, I have found that the emotional toll is heavier than many of the other symptoms, and maybe by sharing my journey I will be able to help others on theirs. Here is a little overview of how I found out I had MM.

In May of 2012 I moved to Tempe AZ from Texas to start esthetics's school (skin care, facials, etc).

I have had back problems for years. As a massage therapist I have attributed my problems to my job. I have friends who I exchange treatments with and so I received plenty of massages, acupuncture and chiropractic adjustments. However, by the time I started school the pain in my back had become so severe that it was really interfering with my life. Big suitcases had to be carried to school every day, and I was unable to do so. With the help of friends and fellow students I was able to continue school, but it became increasingly more difficult. I went to see several doctors and ended up in the ER a couple of times, but other than diagnosing me with severe anemia they could not find anything wrong. At my first ER visit I was told by the doctor that he would only do an x-ray, since cat scans were so expensive and insurance agencies frowned at their "overuse". As I found out later, the tumors they found on my spine were only able to be detected by cat scans, something that could have allowed my treatment to have started months earlier, never mind avoiding months of agony. I ended up with a bad lung infection that would not go away, but x-rays showed my lungs were clear, so I